Mayor and City Council

The City Council is responsible for the overall policy and administrative direction of the city government.  The five (5) members of the city council are elected on an “at large” basis and serve staggered four-year terms.  A council president is selected from among the members of the city council and serves for a two-year period.  The mayor is elected on an “at large” basis and serves a two-year term.  The mayor does not vote but acts as ceremonial head of the city.  City council meetings are usually conducted on the first and third Monday of each month.  Worksessions and special meetings are scheduled on an as needed basis.

Erich Winter -

COUNCIL Nathan Schhmidt, President - 12/31/2024
  Beverly Olson - 12/31/2024
  Bryce Curtiss - 12/31/2026
  Daniel Sanborn - 12/31/2026
  Steve Sulflow - 12/31/2026

Watch past Montevideo City Council meetings here.